Star Poems

I was fortunate to spend last weekend off grid with the stars. The best part of an outhouse, is standing under the moon and stars in the middle of the night. Here are three poems that came out of those precious moments. Enjoy!

Stars of Frost

Stars of Frost

Stars of frost
beneath my feet
and above my head.
Waxing crescent moon
lights the trees
who reach for the stars
with dark fingers.
All is quiet and still
in the cold night
amplifying my crunching steps.
There is a kind of awe,
a kind of comfort
in a clear winter night
when the house is sleeping
and only the bobcat and I
are on the prowl.

_______________

Stars of All

Stars above
stars below
stars my love
begin to show,
show in my soul
for I am one,
one of the whole.
Made of stars are we
do unto others
as I do for me.

_____________

These are the Same Stars

These are the same stars
ancestors saw
from wilderness, bogs
and rough plowed fields.
These ancestors,
these stars
live in me.
How shall I shine
for all who inherit me?

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to make our world a positive place. She believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her pen-name is CreatetheDawn. Follow Dawn's work on this blog and in her books to help fill your world with wit, wisdom, and wonder.
This entry was posted in Moon, Mystical and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment