Eating Dinner with Cardinals and Crickets

One of those precious, do nothing evenings of late summer. Enjoy the poem and make those moments for yourself to savor.

Eating Dinner with Cardinals and Crickets

Eating Dinner with Cardinals and Crickets

Dinner raw and unwashed
from garden to deck.
Overgrown peas,
dirty husked ground cherries
so sweet and yellow,
first lemon cucumbers
sliced outside and sprinkled
with Tammy’s ranch dressing mix.
A twist top white wine
in a fancy beer glass
because my white wine stem broke last month. 

It’s August and evenings are back
that beautiful fading light.
A red tailed hawk wails,
my roses pop red 
against the mature green yard,
cornfield is cobbing,
and a hummingbird whizzes by.

These are the moments of real life,
of savored life.
There is bird poop under my cutting board. 
Pour another glass of Sauvignon Blanc.
I am nature in this moment. 
Temperature is falling to night.
It’ll be hot, summer, 90s tomorrow
so I soak up the cool,
the tiniest of breezes
only the top of popple trees move.
A doe stares at me
wondering.
She doesn’t run away.

I write
I rock in my rocking lawn chair.
No dishes to do tonight
just compost to dump.
Hawk wails again.
It really is the simple things,
an August night
eating dinner with cardinals and the crickets.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to make our world a positive place. She believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her pen-name is CreatetheDawn. Follow Dawn's work on this blog and in her books to help fill your world with wit, wisdom, and wonder.
This entry was posted in garden, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment