“Get back on the mat”

I have several soul cards that I made years ago by choosing magazine images and words that spoke to me and arranging them on a card using my intuition. These cards continue have meaning for me and help me focus on the work I do on myself and my life.  I just finished the “Today is the Day I Write my own story” phase where I downsized my job and up-sized my writing/publishing time.  Now I am entering my “Get back on the mat” time when I use self-care and connection as an approach to aging.  Hopefully this journey inspires you as well. Here is the poem:
IMG_20170614_072526
Get Back on the Mat

Chose a soul card
for entering a new time.
Increased self-care.
A call to “get back on the mat.”
The mat of yogic principles
A practice of nightly
“legs up the wall”
and breath
(and dark chocolate).

Visualizing my skin and other organs renewing,
getting younger, healthier,
fresh, more blood and movement,
pulsing.

Exercise my mind.
Work on understanding annoyances, frustrations.
Choosing not to go to hurt places
when sharp words present
but using compassion to send out healing
rather than pull in hurt.

More veggies, herbs, green.
Grow things and notice, feel
the weather rawly
as does my garden
and stretch,
stretch body, mind, and
set spirit to soar.
Look at the tree tops.

Back on the mat.
The mat a lotus flower
Opening,
purposefully opening.
Reaching out through poetry,
sharing,
moving into teaching.

Self-care is connection
being part of humanity.
Fostering my compassion.
Noticing my judgements
for they are judgements of myself
which do not serve me.

Get back on the mat.
Ripples in the sand
inward ripples for me
and outward ripples
of connection.

This is how I will embrace aging.
Aging as growth, awakening, renewing
and being part of nature.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

