Chill

Poem #17 – Stamp collection – National/Global Poetry Writing Month 2017

Chill 17.jpg
Chill

Would your worries be worries
if a tornado was approaching?

Would your worries be worries
if you were faced with cancer?

I have worried over much
that came to nothing.
That the birthday cake would fall,
that the child would crack his head open,
that taxes wouldn’t get done,
that my paper wouldn’t get an A
that he wouldn’t love me back.

Now I chill and turn my worries inside out
like socks out of the dryer.
The cake will be delicious no matter how high,
the child will stumble and fall and cry as children do,
taxes will be done in February or maybe March,
my paper will be the best I can write,
and if he loves me, he is the one, if he doesn’t find another one.

When I begin to tell myself stories
and guess what the future will befall,
I stop and notice a wild flower
or look at the beautiful sky.
“Chill” I say to myself
the moment is now
and now is where I live.
Time best spent
is chill in the now
for the now is for sure.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chill

  1. Pingback: National Poetry Writing Month 2017 | createthedawn

Leave a Reply

