Grrr

Poem #3 – Stamp collection – National/Global Poetry Writing Month 2017

Grrr 7
Grrr

Low growl
Brewing
Puff of ash from the seething volcano
Warning shot over the bow
Tremors in a glass of water

Vibrating throat
Grrrrowl rises up from the belly
Ears back
Eyes narrowed
A strip of standing hair
like a long Mohawk
Senses peaked
Ready to roar
Ready to pounce

Left a note on the door
“had a bad day,
went for a walk
to let off steam.”

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grrr

  1. Pingback: National Poetry Writing Month 2017 | createthedawn

  2. midwestcorrespondent says:

    Hi Dawn

    I’m enjoying your stamp collection.

    I can’t remember exactly – were you at the painting weekend that time when I was so distressed and didn’t want to paint what I was feeling so I tried to paint nothing? I laugh every time I look at that painting – it’s one of the most “intuitive”paintings I’ve ever done. All fury and pain and dark and grief. A few days after Christmas my painting burst out of hiding. I do stuff like the one embedded in this message regularly now. I have no idea how. I tell myself “Just put paint on paper.” and stuff like this happens. Gabe says that I’m not allowed to say that I can’t paint anymore. OK.

    [image: Inline image 1]

    Everyone comes to their first painting workshop telling her about the art they already do – painting or writing or whatever it is. So when I said “quilt” she ignored me. When I said it again she dismissed it. After all, quilts are so dull and not really art-y, right? Last time I was there I showed her some of the fabric bags that I make. It’s so pump you up when you wow! your art teacher. Hah! Also go google “Contemporary art quilts” and go to the “images” tab.

    [image: Inline image 2]

Leave a Reply

