Cold is turning me to stone

cold is turning me to stone.jpg
Cold is turning me to stone

Bundled to high heaven,
or at least four layers,
we set off snowmobiling
on a minus degree day

as the sun waned,
the cold began to seep in
layer by layer
until it hit skin
then thin boney fingers of cold
like spider webs
wriggled their way into
my joints, muscle and sinew.

I pried my stiff body off the machine
ratcheting my legs and back
into a standing position.

Even my face moved slowly
like waxed canvas
stretched over cement cheek bones.
The extreme cold is nature’s Botox.

This must be what old feels like.
Rheumatic stone body
not painful
just unresponsive.
Gone is articulation
when bursa disappears
and bones fuse.

Post trip
still in my under layers
serving now only to hold the cold
dragged in from outside
to my bloodless arms,
I finally feel the chill.
Folding my arms and fuzzy blanket around me
does not affect a thaw.
Only marinating in a long hot shower
melts the stone
like Vinz Clortho, Keymaster of Gozer
hatching from a gargoyle.

With warm skin, bones and joints
I am restored
awakened from the diving reflex
alive and thriving
and ready for spicy chicken nachos
with extra cheese.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Wisconsin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

