Peeling the spoiling fruit

Writing poetry is a way to answer the questions you have of yourself. This poem started as a wondering why i was feeling closed and distant and irritated. The process of writing the poem was a noodling out of the problem and coming to the answer. The answer then lead to the cure. Whew…all better now. Here’s the poem:
Peeling the spoiling fruit.
Peeling the spoiling fruit

Fruit so juicy,
so vibrant,
so delicious,
turns on a day of
over stimulation.
Begins to sour,
begins to fade,
begins to smell acrid.
Why?

I pierce the mystery,
the thick peel,
the cultural should,
the illusion,
the romantic notion,
the headdress
to reveal the flesh beneath.
Naked and raw,
real, vulnerable.
Holding the seeds
that are my truth.

I tweeze into the soft flesh.
It has turned mushy.
Searching for the answers,
the hard seeds,
the genetic code,
the source,
the answer to why.
Why does romance
have an expiration?
Why does it dissolve
like a cloud so plump
and high and beautiful
becoming just fleeting mist
when it sinks to earth?

The rain is my comfort.
It is me.
It keeps my energy for me.
Keeps touch and warmth away
when I have had my fill.

Is my vessel for touch so small?
It craves a small and frequent touch,
bubbles and laughs
and sprouts the seeds.
But the sprouts quickly turn
when the vessel is over full,
saturated, soaked,
wanting no more.
Do not touch.
Do not breathe on me.
I can no longer laugh
but go into my shell.
Need the rain.
Need my energy for me
not stolen away
and rotting.
Is this my fate?
My struggle between
alone and surrounded,
between lonely and over stimulated.
Is there an in-between?
A happy middle?
A perfect ripeness,
a fruiting?

It is to love many
And to hold the significant place
for myself
keeping just enough of my energy
for me
through poetry,
through solitude,
through sleep
And sharing the extra
with the many I love.
Spreading joy.
Sprinkling the energy I can share.
Sharing that excess
of magic and healing.

The answer then
is “many.”
Love many.
Love many
after I have first
loved and cared for
me.

 

 

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Scotland and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

