Only shift

Processing my move from Oregon to Wisconsin. No matter where I am, there is always someone to miss.

Yes this is a photo from in my car. You can see a bit of my co-pilot behind the shifter. He is a headless, handless Lego minifig so that he can’t see or hear or comment on where I am going, and he can’t grab the wheel when I make mistakes. Gee I should write a poem about that too.

Here’s the “Only Shift” processing my move poem…
Only shift
Only shift

Sophia said
“fear and excitement
are the same energy.”
So I had a glass of wine,
well, three,
to calm the jitters
of fast flowing flow
so many good things
speeding my way
and the to-do list
stacking up
like Sarah Cynthia
Silvia Stout’s₁ garbage pile.

But, I must eat the elephant
small bite by small bite,
bending time around
saying “yes” to new beginnings
and knowing that
there are no real endings
only shift.

So many people to love.
The longer I live
the more people I want
to carry with me
folded in my arms
letting love spill all over them
like Magic Shell on ice cream.

There is no loss
only shift
only shift
and it is on the uphills
where shifting
without rolling too far backwards
is trickiest.

Get myself out of the way,
move out of neutral
with confidence.
Relish the excitement,
the adventure,
the shift,
the puddles of love everywhere.

Where ever I am
is where I am meant to be.
I am at once
fledging and grounding,
always connected
to gratefulness
to love
to flow.

₁ reference to Shel Silverstein’s poem “Sarah Cynthia Silvia Stout would not take the garbage out”

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

