Expanding

Writing helps me process change and transition. Initiating a move from Oregon back home to Wisconsin has expanded me and attracted new experiences, perspectives and amazing people into my growing sphere. Here is a poem that helped me notice, process and appreciate this expansion. (If you like this poem, also read my poems titled “Love Puddles” and “Firsts.”)
Expand
Expanding

Failing to climb into
an old comfortable skin
that was too small,
I began to expand with its shedding.

A challenge to my
two-shoes
of goodly raising,
peeking into the|
high class of Boston
and the pit of jailed perspectives
where dogs don’t love dogs.

Loving large
a poet far,
finding bridges
like Legos
and kittens
and whittled wit,
And learning that crumpets
are delicious with peanut butter.

Trying on a new career
that feeds and calms my fears
and sets this single gal
on a course
the universe has chosen.

The longer I live this long life,
the more links appear
that saying “Yes” has threaded.

It all boils down
to relationships
to openness
to learning.

I expand my reach
over social strata
and sample crafts
simply for the expression
and connection to masters.

At bay are judgments
and assumptions
about my life’s course
and the look and feel of others.

Follow the path that presents
and remain curious
as to its curves.
The only ending is death
so it is all journey,
journey that we ride
with companions
who cross or trace
our windy, far-reaching path.

And so my love puddles expand
touching and discovering
people and places and perspectives.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

