Things have weight

One of the opportunities of moving is purging of possessions. It is also an emotionally difficult task because things have energy and memories attached to them as well as useful and monetary value. I am touching and making a decision about every single thing that I own right now. Here’s the poem:
Things have weight

Things have weight
-to keep or not to keep my china

All my things
in boxes
stacked up in storage
weighty and ugly in brown cardboard.
Feeling burdened by their bulk,
dragging them across country,
asking loved ones to help me
shoulder the load of change.

Yet when I unwrap a box
fondness bursts out,
memories, dreams, treasured finds
waiting for a new home,
a “me” home
where no one judges
my Goodwill paintings
or diverse diner plates
or ridiculousness of a crystal chandelier
hanging over rickety old beloved chairs.

It’s the treasures I will keep
and the things tainted with hard life lessons
I will release to be healed by their next owner.

But not everything
is clearly a rainbow or a sucking hole.
The wheat China
is a tainted treasure.
It has the touch
of great great aunt Nita
and the festivity of shared Thanksgivings ,
hard-fought Thanksgivings though.
When an ill-matched mate
did not want your people
messing up the house
and soiling the precious furniture
with their joyful hands.

How do I heal these tainted treasures
so that I can keep them?
Or do I cut and run
releasing their weight from my bindle?

Carrie said it is me who carries the hurt|
that to heal the china
is to heal me.

Keep the china.
Move it into my new home
and invite friends
and family
and chiffon cake with raspberry sauce
to layer a new history
on these 60 year old dishes.

The weight of joy,
and sharing
and memory-creating
and even hard life lessons
is a weight worth more
than its physical pounds.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

