Love affair with the moon

Here’s another from my poetry archive. Wrote this in 2011. I really do find the moon quite sensual, so it’s no surprise that moon and I hooked up. Here’s the poem:

Love affair with the moon

We have a love affair moon and I.
Two shining spirits adrift, finding each other in the night.
I feel his warm light fall upon my golden hair like a halo.
I turn to face my lover moon.
He reaches down softly placing his fingers beneath my chin and gently lifts my eyes to his.
My heart swells, a simpering sigh slowly escapes my lips as our luminous faces meet.
He takes a lusty breath that sounds like wind high in the tops of the towering firs
and raises up to his full height in the effervescent night sky
drawing me into a long kiss of souls.
He rolls West across a downy bed of clouds to slip his arm around my shoulders.
His touch is ever so light as I feel him pull me to him.
Oh lover moon hold me sweetly till the dawn steels you away.
Hold me through the night,
our eyes seemingly only inches apart
so that I can feel your cool musky breath on my cheeks
and your streams of light like fingers in my hair.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in my poetry archive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love affair with the moon

  1. Just one question – if you are having an affair with the moon then who is he dating? Also I’m glad I read this again, as I enjoyed the bed of clouds and finding each other in the night. The moon is full of warm light yet cool at the same time – an eclectic combination.

Leave a Reply

