To love her

Here is another from my poetry archives. It was inspired by the Bryan Adam’s song “have you ever really loved a woman?” This song stops me in my tracks when I hear it, because it’s the way i want to be loved which this poem it inspired is also about.

Since the poem is short, and I like to include photos with my poems, I am including two photos. Is a snap shot
of a photo taken by photographer Alan Kolbeck when I was 23 back in my modelling days. It will represent me at my best outer beauty.  (Sorry this was before digital so settled for a picture of the photo. Alan is seriously talented so the real photo is much more amazing.)

The second photo is me at 45 this morning when I just woke up…bed head hair, no make-up, still in my jammies. It will represent me at my worst outer beauty.

The point of juxtaposing these two photos is that the kind of love this poem and Bryan’s song are conveying is a love, not for outer beauty, but for all the good stuff on the inside that never fades.

To love her 23
To love her 45
Here’s the poem called “To love her”:

To love her

Breathe her
Breathe her in through your heart
Hold her there above you
sun shining down through her hair in streams of precious gold
framing her adoring face as her eye lids gently bow, soft lashes falling to her cheeks
She inhales and tips her chin toward you, opening her eyes to meet yours…waiting
Windows to her truth…the beauty of her soul laid open
Walk in
Surrender
Revere
Love

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in my poetry archive and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To love her

  1. “Windows to her the truth, the beauty of her soul laid open” – definitely my favourite line of this one. I think you have done a wonderful thing here Dawn showing both your poetry and you personally too. The juxtaposition of the pics do frame the piece elegantly, showing how far you have come in your journey and what an accomplished poet you are. And I still think both pics look gorgeous, despite the bed hair and jammies 😉

    • Thank you David. Am i a hopeless romantic? Just got back from a really fun dinner party hosted by a new girlfriend and her husband. This couple, after 10 years of marriage, are so loving and affectionate and adoring even in company that it made my heart sing and made me long for such a connection. This is the way people should love.

      • I totally agree Dawn, love should never perish or come to an end but flourish and be as strong and fun as the day it first began. I’m constantly nourished by the happiness of others and in this day and age, there is nothing finer than two hearts singing in unison 🙂

      • Also in answer to your question, I would say undoubtedly yes but change it to ‘passionately romantic’ instead!

  2. Yes. “hopeless” should not be associated with love. “Passionately romantic” is much more fitting. Believe in the fairy tale!

Leave a Reply

