Sunday is always a good day for rain

I have been reading some of my own past years poetry…being my own fan. There are hundreds of my poems stuck in my hard drive and more in stacks of journals. It is nice to rediscover something I wrote and really like it. Thought I’d post a few this week that are my faves.

Since today is Sunday, here is a poem called “Sunday is always a good day for rain” that I wrote in 2007:

Sunday is Always a Good Day for Rain

Sunday is always a good day for rain
Washing away the ending of a week we will never get back
and christening the beginning of a new week with the choice to do things better
to love better, more
to fear less
to worry less
to notice

Sunday is always a good day for rain
A day of rest, a pause
Time for reflection
For togetherness
For loving
For knowing that nothing else matters

Sunday is always a good day for rain
Rain is a kiss, soft and wet and life affirming
Rain is a heartbeat tapping at the skylight
reminding us we are alive and warm and full of possibility, of promise

Sunday is always a good day for rain
Rain is a tear shared
Rain is forgiveness
Rain is renewal

Sunday is always a good day for rain
Rain is about growth
And Sunday is about faith
Faith in ourselves
Faith in love
Faith in forever
Faith in now
Faith that rain will come again

Sunday is always a good day for rain

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in my poetry archive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday is always a good day for rain

  1. 1959duke says:

    Reblogged this on Change is Never Ending.

  2. Lovely – Washing away the ending of a week we will never get back, many terrific lines. Sunday is a good day for appreciating rain (especially heavy rain if you are indoors!) 🙂

  3. Thanks David. This poem touches me. It’s been good going back and being my own fan. And, it is raining here today…how perfect.

  4. Keimpe Bronkhorst says:

    Dawn, ‘begin’ instead of ‘being’ in the post above? And I hope you’re backing up your hard drive.

    • Thanks Keimpe. Fixed the typo. In fact, i haven’t backed up my hard drive in a long while. Gonna defrag tonight and back up tomorrow. Guess I shouldn’t rely on WordPress as my back-up copy of my poems. Should also tell you that I am still thinking about publishing my first collection of poem in book form. Angela suggested i just hire and editor and get it done. Thanks for chiming in!!

Leave a Reply

