The perfect child

The perfect child

The perfect child – first nephew

The moment you were born
all my yearnings for a child were met.
You came into this life
a kind, wise soul,
hard-working and talented,
and a true dear man.

I have watched you grow these 12 years
from singing you to sleep and placing you in your crib
to rocking you side-to-side like a “new born baby.”
From making cinnamon rolls
and coloring Barbie pictures at age 2
to watching you ride a bike without training wheel at age 3.5,
being in your 2nd grade classroom where the teacher
felt compelled to tell me how great of a person and student you are,
to becoming a talented, team player in hockey,
to straight As on your report card
and getting to know your good choices in friends
and your creativity in writing even when you don’t realize how good of a writer you are
and even how you mowed your name in cursive into the front lawn
working that big ol’ riding mover like a pro.

You will do well in life
always loved and surrounded by friendship,
successful and confident in anything you try
and contributing good to this world.

You are the closest thing to my own child
fulfilling for me that mothering, proud parent part of the soul.
I see our family history in you
those Anderson thighs
and eyes passed down from grandpa to your mom to you
and your hard working gene
and ability to critically think with your brain and your heart
and your value of relationships and time with friends and family.

You have saved me in a way
in how your heart knows my tender heart
and understands that sometimes we need each other
without fanfare or big talks, just being, just knowing
like when you helped me clear blackberries during a hard part of my life
and wash my old car to make it sparkle for me
and ask me to lay down with you at bedtime
chatting about the stars together
and how you want me to witness your accomplishments
and share in holidays and celebrations
bringing me along with you in this journey of growth.

While it is hard to move across the country
physically away from your snuggles and freckled smile
and capable wisdom beyond your 12 years,
I know that we will always be close in the sameness of our hearts
and only an Instagram, or Skype, or phone call or plane ride or a thought away.
Know that I am always here for you
in any and all of your trials and joys
and moments when you too just need to be with another tender, understanding heart.

I am so proud of who you are and who you are becoming!

Forever your favorite auntie, I love you!!

Dawny

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The perfect child

  1. Pingback: Smack down 2014 | createthedawn

Leave a Reply

