For the love of Ted (my teddy bear)

For the love of Ted
For the love of Ted (my teddy bear)
Inspired by a prompt from NaPoWriMo.net (National Poetry Writing Month)

Wrote a poem once
in the wisdom of my twenties
called “why teddy bears are better than men.”
Twenty-five years later, Ted is still with me.
His devotion is epic,
greeting me each day with a string smile
and holding me close every night
without complaint of my flippity floppy sleep.

Sure he is showing his age
tattered and mended
with fur-less spots on his head
but he is still firm and round
and the perfect fit to me.
He doesn’t mind my tattered spots either
having watched me grow and change
since coming into my life at age 8…
I am now 45.

I loved Ted since I first laid eyes on him
gifted to my baby brother
who never got enough time to know Ted
before he was transplanted onto my bed.

Ted loves me in his inanimate,
stuffed bag-of-faux-fur way
which really means he reflects
the love I have for myself
taking care to rest and snuggle
and make bed my sanctuary.

Ted is my constant,
my way to be alone
without being alone.
A safe place to land everyday
and a loving face
to come home to
when I am away.

Ted will even accompany me
to my rest
in a friendly grave yard,
my this life-long companion
on the journey with me
into the next life.
I love you Ted!

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

