Incongruence

incongruent

Incongruence
Rain and 55⁰ in the desert

My body feels
the cool dampness,
the penetrating chill,
smells the familiar moist air of Oregon rain,
but when I open my eyes
there stands the Tucson desert cactus
I have been admiring
for its fortitude against the harsh sun.
Now the sun proof saguaro stands squinting
against the pelting drops.

This incongruence of
apposed elements together
dislodges my sense of place,
sets me to drift,
to question assumptions
and long established judgments.

So, I stand in the cold wind
and ask the cloud-veiled mountains
what they are trying to tell me.

What other incongruences
are in my life?
Are there choices I am not making
by living straddled between worlds?

Am I mistaking procrastination and fear
for patience and duty?
What am I afraid of anyway?
Failure? Undeserved success?
Loss? Trusting myself?

The wind blows harder,
whistles through the prickly pear,
pushes me from behind,
pushes me forward.

The mountains nod.
Yes, move forward
by going back,
back to your values,
back to your roots,
to your family,
and back to your love.

These are your people
This your country..the trees, the lakes.

Go back and snuggle in.
Create a cozy little nest
against the elements
of sun and stagnation,
cold and loneliness,
wind and stress.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Tucson and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

