Dear men

Dear men
Rose and Rosano Gallery – Tucson, AR
“Sister of Earth” by Aureleo Rosano

Dear men

Close your eyes.
Think about seeing the color red.
Open your eyes
and look around.

Now close your eyes again.
This time, look for blue.
Open your eyes
and look around.

Did you see
what you were looking for?

In another life
I saw men
who told me to stop licking my fingers when I eat,
Told me to not tell off-color jokes
Told me to wear a different sweater
because my favorite sweater
made me look fat.

Then I went on a soul adventure
to a magical place
called Boston
and decided to look for blue
instead of red.

When I opened my eyes
I began to see dear men.
I reconnected with the dearest man
and remembered how it felt
to be seen and to see another loving heart.
And then…
I saw dear men everywhere!

I saw them married to many of my friends,
I saw them with friends of friends,
I saw them helping strangers at the store.
I saw them at a breakfast party and a ski trip.
I saw them in Boston
and Wisconsin
and Oregon
and Tucson

I tasted the food they lovingly prepared.
I listened to them talk about their wives
as if they were angels.
I saw my father gas up the car
for my mother
and have a special lunch
with her for doctor’s appointments.

I saw them do dishes
and hold open doors
and give little gifts
and build a warm fire
and pour wine for others first.

I saw them smile at compliments and kisses
and reminisce of a romantic trip to Sicily
and enjoy having his head scratched
and his sore hands rubbed by her soft hands
and gaze up at her
as she served him
his favorite meal.

I saw romance
and love
and courtesy
and thoughtfulness.
I saw giving and receiving.

Love, indeed, is abundant.
Unselfish love,
real love
is everywhere.
It was always there.
I just needed to look for it.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Tucson and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear men

  1. Such truth radiating out of this one. Impressive how you have blended your own experiences and how it tells an intimate story. I get so sad when a male or a female attacks either sex, there are some good people out there and if you treat people with love and kindness, it is only going to be rewarded tenfold. That’s what I see in this piece Dawn, that it is about finding the good in people and being open to it, nurturing it and encouraging it. As for my favourite bit, I thoroughly enjoy – I saw them in Boston and Wisconsin and Oregon and Tucson, genius – can I add Britain to this too 🙂

Leave a Reply

