Ponytail

I have had long hair most of my life. In September, I cut it short. Now, months later a cute little piggy tail is possible. Missing the benefits of pulling all my hair back in a ponytail inspired this poem.
photo (5)
to get upcycled tin earrings like mine visit: AWiseWoman on Etsy

Ponytail

Half inch a month
More if I exercise
Hair growth that is

from piggy to a pony
by summer

better to grab you with
my dear

those thick fingers
wound round

pony up,
keeps the fine blonde strands
from sticking to my shiny cheek

makes my big antsy eyes
the focus of my wide-smiling face

when in doubt
clip it
pin it up
pull it back
coif it

chignon de cheveux
French twist
and out the door you go

you little scamp.

About createthedawn

Dawn’s calling is for her poetry to “light the gloomy corners of the world.” She facilitates writing workshops both online and face-to-face and is a dynamic speaker on inspiration, innovation, change, and healing. Dawn believes in the power of poetry to process, to focus, to align, and to find our way to happiness and fulfillment. Thus, her business and her blog are called: create the dawn.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

